The U.S. Public Service Academy has built a strong Board of Advisors composed of leaders in academia, business, the military, philanthropy, and politics who share our commitment to developing this nation’s civilian leadership. In addition, we have a Blueprint Advisory Board that focuses on helping us develop our academic program.

Politics and Policy
Betsy Brand: Director, American Youth Policy Forum
David Cohen: Founder, Advocacy Institute; former President, Common Cause
William Damon: Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution; Director, Stanford Center on Adolescence, Stanford University
Jeremiah Denton: Former U.S. Senator from Alabama; Rear Admiral, U.S. Navy (ret.)
William Galston: Senior Fellow, Governance Studies, The Brookings Institution
Mark Gerson: Founder and CEO, Gerson Lehrman Group; author, The Neoconservative Vision: From the Cold War to Culture Wars
Frederick W. Hess: Director of Education Policy Studies, American Enterprise Institute
James Joseph: Executive Director, United States–Southern Africa Center for Leadership and Public Values, Duke University; former U.S. Ambassador to South Africa
Richard Riley: Former U.S. Secretary of Education; Former Governor of South Carolina
Dennis Ross: Director, Washington Institute for Near East Policy; former Special Envoy for Middle East Peace under Presidents George H.W. Bush and William Clinton
Larry J. Sabato: Director, Center for Politics, University of Virginia
Antoinette A. Samuel: Executive Director, American Society for Public Administration
Robert M. Tobias: Director, Public Sector Executive Education, American University; Fellow, National Academy of Public Administration
Mark White: Former Governor of Texas
James Lee Witt: Former Director, Federal Emergency Management Agency
Harris Wofford: Former U.S. Senator from Pennsylvania; former CEO, Corporation for National Service

Military and National Service
Erik Bergrud: Director, International Center for Civic Engagement, Park University
Harry Bruell: Executive Director, Southwest Conservation Corps
Stefka Czarnecki Fanchi: Executive Director, Colorado Habitat for Humanity; Member, Advisory Board to the U.S. Council for Habitat for Humanity International
John Gomperts: CEO, Experience Corps
James Hogg: Admiral, U.S. Navy (ret.); Director, Strategic Studies Group, Naval War College
Barbara Holland: Director, National Service Learning Clearinghouse
Julie Hulstein: Executive Director, Community Health Association of Mountain/Plains States
Timothy Johnson: Chair, AmeriCorps Alums Advocacy Group; President/CEO, Leadership 101
Wendy Kopp: Founder and President, Teach for America
Dave Palmer: Lieutenant General, U.S. Army (ret.); former Superintendent, U.S. Military Academy; former President, Walden University
Sally Prouty: President and CEO, National Association of Service and Conservation Corps
Kevin F.F. Quigley: Executive Director, National Peace Corps Association
Sidney Schwarz: Founder and President, PANIM: The Institute for Jewish Leadership and Values
Susan Stroud: Executive Director, Innovations in Civic Participation, Global Services Institute
Steven Tomaszeski: Rear Admiral, U.S. Navy (ret.); former Oceanographer of the Navy

Chris Barbic: Founder and Head of Schools, Yes College Preparatory Schools
Alma Blount: Director, Hart Leadership Program, Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy, Duke University
Amitai Etzioni: Professor of International Studies, George Washington University; Director, Institute for Communitarian Policy Studies
Michael Feinberg: Founder, Knowledge is Power Program
William Ferris: Professor of History, University of North Carolina; former chairman, National Endowment for the Humanities
Al Guskin: Former President, Antioch University; Distinguished University Professor, Ph.D Program in Leadership and Change, Antioch University
Robert Hughes: President, New Visions for Public Schools
Natasha Kamrani: School Board member, Houston Independent School District; Attorney, Forman, Perry, Watkins, Krutz & Tardy
Steve Loflin: Founder and Executive Director, National Society of Collegiate Scholars
Theodore Mitchell: CEO, NewSchools Venture Fund; former president, Occidental College
Charles Moskos: Professor Emeritus, Northwestern University
Howard T. Prince II: Director, Center for Ethical Leadership, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs
Andrew Rotherham: Co-Founder and Co-Director, Education Sector
Irasema Salcido: CEO and Founder, Cesar Chavez Public Charter Schools for Public Policy
Peter Wood: Professor of History, Duke University

Non-Profit and Business
Hodding Carter: University Professor of Leadership and Public Policy, University of North Carolina; former President, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
Alan Chartock: President and CEO, WAMC/Northeast Public Radio
Gloria Carter Dickerson: Kellogg Foundation
K.C. Eynatten: Executive Director, CoCo Institute
H. Lee Godfrey: Name Partner, Susman Godfrey, L.L.P.
Karen Kalish: President, Kalish Communications; Estelle W. and Karen S. Kalish Foundation
John O’Neill: Partner, Howrey L.L.P.; Director, Center for the Study of Popular Culture
James J. Postl: Former President and CEO, Pennzoil-Quaker State Company
Rob Rowland: President of Associated Counsel of America; Treasurer, C Club of Houston
Stephen D. Susman: Name Partner, Susman Godfrey, L.L.P.
James M. Windham: Founder, Windham Capital Advisory Services; Publisher, The Texas Pilgrim